Louisiana Assault and Battery Attorney
If you were involved in an altercation and accused of assaulting an individual, you should seek the advice of an experienced lawyer. Valex Amos has spent more than 18 years defending the legal rights of those facing criminal prosecution. Throughout the years, he has learned that many good people face unfair accusations. Mr. Amos is prepared to fight for justice on behalf of his clients by taking down the prosecution’s case and building an effective legal defense strategy.
When you talk to Valex Amos, he will begin by examining the possible options of defense that can be applied to your case. This is very important because it determines the outcome of your case even before it begins. In addition, he will also let you know of the possible consequences that you are faced with.
If you are facing assault & battery charges hire Mr. Amos as he immediately will begin reviewing the reports and statements, investigating any flaws in the prosecution’s case, and identify key testimony and evidence in order to achieve the best possible results. Call Valex Amos at (337) 291-9115. He is ready to meet with you today! Remember to win your case you need good evidence, good facts, and a very good lawyer. Valex Amos is the right choice.
Louisiana Assault and Battery Laws
Under Louisiana statutes, assault is defined as: An attempt to commit a battery or the intentional placing of another in reasonable apprehension of receiving a battery.
A general assault as defined above is referred to as a “simple assault” under Louisiana law and carries a potential sentence of up to 90 days in jail and fines reaching $200.
Ref: LA Code RS 14:38
Aggravated AssaultThis is a criminal offense that is defined as committing an assault (as defined above) with a dangerous weapon. In general aggravated assault carries a potential sentence of 6 months in jail and fines reaching up to $1,000.
However, if the aggravated assault is committed on a retail employee while you (the suspect) is engaged in a theft or attempted theft, you could face a mandatory minimum of 120 days and up to 6 months in jail, along with fines.
Ref: LA Code RS 14:37
Aggravated Assault With a FirearmAggravated assault with a firearm, though it sounds a lot like the general crime of “aggravated assault” as defined above, is actually committed by the discharge of a firearm. When an assault is paired with the discharge of a firearm, it could lead to this felony charge.
This offense carries up to 5 years in prison and fines reaching $5,000.
Ref: LA Code RS 14:37.4
BatteryBattery differs from assault in that it actually involves contact or force. Under Louisiana law, battery is defined as the “intentional use of force or violence” on someone else.
Simple battery is a misdemeanor offense and carries up to 6 months in jail and fines reaching $1,000.
Ref: LA Code RS 14:35
Aggravated BatteryAggravated battery is more serious than simple battery and is defined as a battery where a dangerous weapon is used. This is a felony offense that carries up to 10 years in prison and fines reaching $5,000.
Ref: LA Code RS 14:34
Second Degree BatterySecond degree battery is defined as committing a battery where intentional serious bodily injury is inflicted. This includes injury which features unconsciousness, extreme pain, disfigurement, loss or impairment, or substantial risk of death.
A felony offense, second degree battery is punishable by up to 5 years in prison and fines reaching $2,000.
Ref: LA Code RS 14:34.1
Aggravated Second Degree BatteryAggravated second degree battery involves aggravated battery as defined above (inflicting serious injury) and the use of a dangerous weapon.
This is one of the most serious of violent crimes under Louisiana law and carries up to 15 years in prison and fines reaching $10,000.
Ref: LA Code RS 14:34.7
*Laws are subject to change